Desperate but not hopeless

Desperate: having a great need or desire for something. 

That is what desperate means. 

So why does this word have a negative connotation? Why is it a bad thing to want something greatly? Why is it bad to have a desire for something? 

Do I have the desire to find someone I can truly connect with? Do I have the need to find someone who understands me? Do I have the desire to find someone I am comfortable with? I guess that makes me desperate. 

I guess that makes me a laughable situation. That it makes me have hope for something that will never happen. Right? Because that’s the connotation of those words. 

Having hope is never a bad thing. Knowing what you desire is not a bad thing. Knowing what you need is not a bad thing. In fact, it is not often you find people who have that, about relationships, careers of even the direction of their life.


 So you know what? I am desperate. I know what I want, what I need, what I desire and what I hope for. And that doesn’t make me pathetic. That makes me motivated to seek what I deserve rather than settle for anything. 

Watch what you say. Words have a way of digging deeper than any physical wound. They also tend to last longer.

Leave a Reply

