Living in the in between…BALANCE

Balance is an important part of life. 

I think I have always struggled with balance. It is not something that has come naturally for me. I am either so busy I don’t have time to sleep or all I do is stay in bed and sleep. There hasn’t really been an in between. 

I have this image in my head of what my life should be like. And I’m trying to figure out if it’s idealistic or realistic.

I’m trying to figure out how to balance seeing friends and family. How to balance being an “adult” and being a 22 year old. 

My friend asked me to go to the bar last night and I said I couldn’t because I have work. While this may have been the responsible thing to do, I woke up this morning to pictures of people enjoying their night and I was totally jealous. 

I’m not sure if it’s because I’m in the teacher world and I feel obligated to be the adult and make smart choices or whether that’s just a part of growing up. 

So how do I balance being young and unattached with being the adult children look up to? 

My work is important to me and I don’t want to half -ass it. But my social life is an important part too, right? 

There’s that guilt that keeps popping up no matter how strong I want to be. 

Forever a walking contradiction 

-Z 

Leave a Reply

