This is just the start of a beautiful journey 

You survived the first Monday back! 

I survived the first Monday back 😅.

Yesterday was an 18 hour day. Days shouldn’t be that long. But don’t even get me started on that. 

Walking into school yesterday, I had mixed feelings. I was glad to be back to being a functioning human of society instead of the coach potato I had become over the weekend, but I was also not looking forward to the daily stresses of work. 

From the very morning, I realized that I missed the kids. I missed seeing their smiling faces and I missed feeling important to them. I listened to all of their stories and I once again remembered how important my job is in their eyes. 


Now don’t get me wrong, things were not perfect. My foot hurt like crazy from my wonderful adventures. The kids were even more hyper than usual..if that’s even possible. The copy machine completely freaked out and would jam every 3 copies. Things were not perfect to say the least. But they didn’t quite bother me the way they usually did. 

I realized this morning that in the past year, I have changed so much. I have realized not to take the little things for granted, I realized that I’m still figuring out who I am as a person and as an educator. I realized that this is just the start of my adult journey and that I’m excited to see what comes of it.


I’m not sure if my trips had anything to do with this change, or if my brother’s words finally got to me. It’s easy to take things personal and to be stressed and anxious about everything but I am slowly learning to let things go, to laugh at it and move on. 
Slowly but surely learning that being an adult is not trying to fix everyone around you, but finding your place among people that may be unlike you.

Take chances, be forgiving, and find happiness in moments.


Welcome back 🙂 -Z 

Leave a Reply

