Leap and don’t look back

There’s something to be said about stepping outside of your comfort zone.There’s also something to be said about jumping head first outside of your comfort zone. 

Over this spring break week, I traveled to Cancun with some of my friends (teacher friends of course). (Teachers need a break too!) We had some relaxing days by the pool with no worries but we also went on some adventures that were definitely not something I do on the daily. 


We went on this excursion called Xplor and there was not one thing that was something within my personal comfort zone. There were four activities and each one tested my limits. Now, it may sound silly or childish to be afraid of something but you don’t know what fear is until you have to deal with anxiety on top of that. Imagine having that fear, plus having all these thoughts about all the possible negative outcomes that could occur. Yea…not fun. 
Anyway, the four activities: water rafting, underwater cave swimming, atv type vehicles and zip lining. 


Water rafting may not seem that big of a deal, but when the only thing you have to transport yourself is your own hands it’s kinda “dificil”. So me and my friend shared a raft and when I tell you we got stuck on every single turn, I am not exaggerating. My arms were so sore after the fact and I was just so happy to be on dry land again. 
Underwater cave swimming is actually a beautiful experience…if you know how to swim. I of course do not. So yes we got life jackets and technically it would be very difficult to drown while wearing a life jacket…my heart did not stop pounding until we were on dry land. Ok let’s be real, we took the shortcut because I was freaking out but I still totally honestly swam in the underwater cave at least several feet. 
The atv vehicle did not give me so much anxiety but it was definitely something I would not go out of my way to do. I of course was not driving because I have yet to get my drivers license (yes I am fully aware how embarrassing that is) but still. The vehicle had no doors or roof or sides that covered your body and we kinda sorta ran into a couple rock walls and trees…with none of that usual protection. 
The last event was the zip lining and we chose the one with less water…the highest zip line in Mexico…nice one right? Well fear of falling and dying did not stop me! I went with my ever patient friend so I wouldn’t have to zip line alone and we went through so many high towers. I did injure myself because what would be a trip without me injuring myself so I didn’t do the last zip line into the water but let’s not forget the other EIGHT that I did do from very VERY high towers. 
So now in a safe place, where I can’t fall hundreds of feet, or drown in an underwater cave, I look at my pictures and I am amazed at the beauty we witnessed. I am amazed how stepping or leaping outside of your comfort zone can bring you to so many magnificent places. I deeply appreciate the patience and consideration my friends had shown me during my not so elegant freak outs, and I am so proud of myself for accomplishing those things. For pushing myself, even if it may seem like that push was not that great, to such a beautiful place. 


I hope your week off was as magical and beautiful and courageous as mine, but if not, do not fret, there is always an opportunity to explore and be adventurous. 
Push yourself beyond your limitations and be proud of your accomplishments. Don’t let anyone pressure you because no one can feel how much you can do. Take it slow, but keep on pushing because there is so much out in our world to discover if only you step outside of that comfort zone. 


(If you read through this whole thing…WOW, now go back and count how many times I wrote “comfort zone” and leave a comment with the answer😜😁) 

-Z

Leave a Reply

