Keep an open mind and accept the differences. 

I have always had a love for reading. As a child, I struggled with language and I was a shy kid. Reading allowed me to better my English and to go on adventures within the comfort of my own home. I honestly learned so much from reading and I love my parents for encouraging me to read. 

As an adult, as a teacher to be, things get a little crazy so I always treasure the free time I have to read. I have recently read three books that give me hope that children will be more accepting of people who may be different from them. 

Whether it is a mental, physical or emotional difference, I know it’s hard for them to feel welcome. I was lucky enough to grow up without any major differences but I have been living with anxiety my whole life and it has definitely made me feel out of place on multiple occasions. 

Three books I read, have discussed disabilities in various ways and I appreciate the way they present it. It is talked about casually and in an accepting way. It is a part of life and we just have to accept that. We have to support that. We have to be aware and kind about that. 

If you’re interested, read one or all these books and it will open your mind. It will allow you to self reflect and be better for them and for you. 

  
   
 
I have mentioned the first book in a previous post, but Wonder is a great book for so many reasons and should definitely be something to check out. 

The second book was recommended to me and it has recently become very popular and I believe has been turned into a play. It’s written from the narrator’s point of view who happens to be an autistic boy. He tries to figure out who killed the dog and shows the audience the thoughts and contemplations of someone with autism.

The last book I read this week ( since I was on bathroom duty during the state test). I picked up randomly and rather enjoyed it. It’s about a Japanese family that lives in America. They work during harvesting season to help farmers cut down wheat. The main character has a brother who is described as “intense” and gives a small insight into how difficult it is for someone who is different to do things we do carelessly. 

If you have the time, and are interested in learning something new definitely check these books out. They are an easy read but they have so much depth. 

Happy Friday lovelies! 

Congrats on surviving the ELA testing week 🙂 

-Z 

Leave a Reply

