The little things are the big things.

Today I was asked by someone who is not familiar with the struggles of teaching why I do this. He asked me why or how do I give up my time for working and going to school and doing this career. 

And when you put it down on paper. It looks bad. The number of hours you spend in the school itself. The number of hours you spend in college classes. The number of hours you spend trying to figure out how to motivate your kids or how to teach that one really tricky strategy. 

The amount of money you spend traveling every day just to get to work on time. The amount of money you spend on coffee in a month just to stay alert. The amount of money spent on education and education tests. 

It’s a lot. I’m not going to lie. And it’s hard to do. No doubt about that. 

But it’s the little things. It’s walking into the room and being greeted with smiles and hugs. It’s watching a child light up when they finally understand what you are talking about. It’s watching a child let you into his life when he tells you stories of his days. It’s the pictures you get that are filled with love and appreciation.

  
It’s the little things that make me forget how tired I am. Or how much I’d rather be in bed. It’s the little things that make me excited to see my kids every day, even if the days aren’t always good ones.

So yes, it is rough and tough and it is not for the weak of heart. It is for passionate people who are willing to devote themselves to the cause, the life, the role. 

That’s why I do it. That’s why I kill myself to try to become better. That’s why I spend most of my days around children. They make me better. They teach and inspire me to be better. My only goal? To do the same for them. 

-Z 

Leave a Reply

