Listen to your elders friends

I just spent three hours talking to my grandparents and here is what I learned: 

  • They know so much more than we give them credit for.
  • They know when to bring you food even when you tell them not to. 
  • They know how the world works even if they don’t know how technology works. 
  • They will tell you the truth even if it hurts.
  • They will yell at you until you see their point of view. 
  • They will tell you that you were raised right and that you have a good head on your shoulders. 
  • They will tell you to be proud of your accomplishments and not worry about others. 
  • They will hug and kiss you until everything feels ok. 
  • They will call you to say goodnight even though you just spent three hours talking to them. 
  • They won’t be around forever. 

  
I love my grandparents dearly and I only recently discovered that I am more like my grandma than I thought. She is patient and she is kind but she is also very aware.  

I don’t know how much longer they will be around but I am grateful for them now more than ever. 

  
As the holidays approach, don’t forget to spend some time with your parents and grandparents. If you put your pride away you might realize how much they have to teach you. 

-Z

Leave a Reply

