Dear public, what do I do? 

There was an incident yesterday that really threw me. I’m not sure if I mentioned earlier, but I’m working with a third grade class. 

So yesterday, a girl in the class who always seemed to be happy and smiling and always surrounded by friends had a melt down. Not a melt down where she threw a temper tantrum but rather she started crying and saying things that frightened me. She is 7 or 8 years old and she was saying that things would be better if she wasn’t around. She said something along the lines of if I were dead, things would be better for everyone. Now I wasn’t there when this incident occurred but my cooperating teacher told me once I returned. 

When I heard this, it struck something with me. At the age of 7 or 8, to feel such a way is so scary to me. At such a young age, the only problems I had were who was I going to play with during recess. 

I don’t know whether it is our society to blame, whether stuff at her home isn’t as good as it seems. I just don’t know. Regardless, this is not ok. It’s not ok that a child so young, so full of life should feel this way. 

In all of the years of taking education classes, not once did we talk about anything of this sort. And it makes me wonder, maybe we should have a class on this. On what we should do. On what we should say. Rather than telling us to call a counselor. 

What would you have done in this situation? What would you have told a child hysterically crying and telling you that her life is not worth living? 

Utterly perplexed, 

Z

Leave a Reply

