Be who you are

We are always told that we are not defined by what we do. “What we do, is not who we are.” I have heard this so many times throughout my life. I have heard it from people who hate their job and those that love it. 

So I started thinking. When people ask me what I do, I don’t respond with I teach, but rather I’m a teacher. To me, defining myself by my job is not demeaning. I’m proud to be following my passions and doing what I love. 

As corny as it sounds, being a teacher is a lifestyle, a state of mind. It doesn’t turn off when you leave your classroom. It follows you home into your thoughts, decisions, actions and dreams. I wake up every morning thinking about what I can do today to motivate that one kid who just can’t focus. 

I am a teacher. I am part of a community of people that spend their lives trying to make the world better one student at a time. I’m proud of that. I’m proud to identify as a teacher. 

  

Leave a Reply

